The Cold Hard Truth of the Follow Up Call.

Applying for jobs is the easy part. Following up after you have applied is the hard part. I am terrible at it. I get super nervous and shaky and I have to sit in a quiet room by myself to call. It takes me like 10 minutes to press the call button after I have the number in my phone! AHH. I think the worst one was the call I did yesterday. I write a cover letter for every job I apply to. I do it before I fill out the app just so I can fly through the process and not have to worry about anything else. I applied for a position the other day and there was no place to attach a cover letter. After I had submitted the app online, I received an email saying not to contact them, and they will contact me if I am what they want. This is the hardest thing for me. I like to follow the rules. But when I have a legit question or concern, I never know if it is ok to contact them. I mean, I don’t want them to say that I can’t follow directions. Because I can. And I do. Well Cody (my bf) is a journalist. He always has the same answer when I have the question of calling or not. His answer is to just do it. And do it until you get an answer. I don’t know about any of you, but I just can’t. I just can’t. (I wrote that twice on purpose.) So, I asked around, getting opinions from others about what I should do. Because I feel like my resume doesn’t really paint the entire picture of all my awesome talents and enthusiasms. So, I ended up deciding that I should call, but I wasn’t going to give my name just in case they said that I wasn’t supposed to call. And it worked. They said I could fax it. And I didn’t even get in trouble. What a relief. Now all I have to do is find a fax machine…..who even uses those anymore!

P.S. I totally wore white yesterday….

Leave some love.

