One Happy Camper.

I was laid off in February from my full-time job as a licensed SLPA. I have been on the hunt ever since to find another job/working my jewelry business. And let me tell you, looking for a job is a full-time job in itself. It is exhausting and discouraging and tedious and awful. I hate it. SO, I decided to try something else out. I am definitely not stopping my job search (because that would be really dumb) but I decided to approach this from a different angle. Something that wouldn’t be so exhausting and discouraging and tedious and awful. Last week I decided I was going to volunteer. I want to make sure that I am not losing any of my skills so I don’t get rusty. I called a local school district and talked to their speech department about volunteering. The woman I talked to was THRILLED. Partly confused but mostly thrilled. I think she kept waiting for there to be some sort of catch. But no, I just want to be there to keep learning and helping and doing what I know how to do. I am pretty stoked off this.

Also, I didn’t know this when called but apparently they are trying to get a SLPA position approved and if I am already there and they know me, hopefully I will have a good chance! I am really excited to be doing something again. I can’t wait to do this. Hopefully this will be a good thing for my future.

If you are in the same position as I am (and by my position, I mean jobless) call up some place that has the job that you want and ask to volunteer. Most likely they would love to have you. I mean come on, you would be working for free. Also, it will be good to put on your resume.

So if you are searching for a job, try it out and good luck! If you already have a job, I hope you have an awesome workday tomorrow 🙂

Leave some love.

