Unemployment

WARNING: I have busted out my soapbox today.

I want to go ahead and address the subject of receiving unemployment. I see the look people give me when they find out that I am on unemployment. I deal with the people who work at unemployment and I can hear their displeasure when I have my phone interviews with them every so often. Honestly, besides the fact that I hate not working, my main reason for wanting a job is so I don’t have to deal with the unemployment office anymore. I would like to point out though, that as much as they hate me when they first talk to me, they seem to be not so disgruntled by the end of our conversation. I like to think that it is because I am awesome and I want to make their job easier and not that our conversation is over. Anyways, when I first got laid off, I had a friend say to me “as long as you aren’t on unemployment…” I saw the look on her face when I told her that I was indeed on unemployment. It was actually the first thing I did when I got home that day after being (in what is my opinion and many other people’s opinion) wrongfully terminated. But that is not the point. The point is, I am not just sitting on my ass not caring that I don’t have a job and receiving money from the government. I am bored! I want a new couch and I can’t get one until I have a job that can pay for it!

Things you may not know about unemployment:

I wish I had a job and didn’t need to be on unemployment.
I look for jobs EVERY DAY.
I am self employed and when I make money off of that, I don’t get any unemployment money.
I have them take taxes out of my unemployment.

I am so thankful that there is this program, because honestly, I have no idea what I would do without it. Also, I have an AMAZING support system at home that helps me to get through all of this. Please don’t think that just because I am utilizing this program, I am trying to cheat the system. I am not. I promise you that. And I can tell you that I am not the only one.

Ok, I am done now. Sorry this is such a debbie downer post, but I really needed to get that off my chest. And HEY! It is my blog, I do what I want.

On that note, I would like to point out that it is mine and Cody’s 2.5 year anniversary. 🙂 I can’t believe that we have been together for that long and yet I feel as though it feels like we have been together forever. I love you babe!

Cheesy moment done. Thanks for bearing with me.

2 thoughts on “Unemployment

  1. I lost my job two years ago and ended up on unemployment for several months and didn’t find it embarrassing at all. People lose their jobs, it happens. If anyone asked what I was up to I told them I lost my job and that I was looking for work and left it at that. I don’t recall anyone judging me for it or thinking it was a bad thing. You shouldn’t feel like you have to defend or explain yourself to anyone, those people aren’t in your shoes. Look at it this way being on unemployment > being homeless.

    • Unemployment is not embarrassing. I should have stated that better. I am really thankful for the program. And I believe in it.

      I guess I am more embarrassed to myself. Not that being on it is embarrassing, just that I am not where I thought I would be and I have to deal with that. But I have definitely seen/heard the judgment when someone finds out. I don’t openly (until this post) tell people I am on it.

      You are definitely correct that it is WAY better than the alternative. Thanks for sharing. It is helpful to know that I am not the only one who has been on it for more than a couple months.

Leave some love.

