Birchbox VS. IPSY

If you have been reading my blog, you know that I am a subscriber of Birchbox. At first it was really awesome. But the past few months I have been completely disappointed with them. My boxes had the lamest stuff in them and they were getting to me 2 weeks after the expected delivery date on the tracking info. Now let me say this. If my boxes were arriving on time, I don’t think I would be as upset about the crappy stuff inside. But they haven’t been so I decided to explore other options.

This does not mean I am giving up on BB. I LOVE LOVE LOVE their website and their rewards program. Also, the fact that you can order products straight off the website and that everything is all in one place. Even their customer service is genuine AS LONG AS you are actually talking to someone over the phone and not by email or facebook.

In my efforts to discover something else, I found IPSY (among other similar options). Have you heard of them? They are getting more popular now that BB hasn’t been as good and people are starting to switch. Basically it is the same concept as BB. You pay $10 a month and they send you 5-ish samples, but instead of a box, they are in a cute little bag.

I wanted to find something comparable to the price and service that BB offered so this is what I chose.

Here is what I got from each company:

Birchbox:
Thankfully BB stepped up their game big time this month. I was thrilled when it came in the mail. Also, it was only 2 days late after the supposed delivery date. Which made it that much better!

This box had a really good selection of different things in it. I was extremely impressed. Especially in comparison to the last few months.

Chuao Chocolatier: I am not one to want food in my box. Unless it is a detox thing. I am super intrigued and would totally want to try that. BUT if I had to get food, I am glad I got this. It was totally weird and I would never buy this without trying it first. It was spicy and sweet and it had pop rocks in it. Totally cool! It was a little too spicy for me but I wasn’t disappointed that it was there. I won’t be buying these though. For one. I am cheap. For two. It didn’t wow me enough to pay 8 bucks for a pack of them.

ModelCo – SHINE Ultra Lip Gloss: I was thrilled to see this full sized item in my box! I NEVER get full sized items! So jazzed! Anyways, I don’t normally wear anything but chapstick and the occasional lipstick when I am feeling just a little more daring than usual so I don’t really own any. Now I do! Awesome. It has a really sweet smell to it, though. Kinda difficult to get over but not too bad where I wouldn’t wear it. It also is still sticky. Not as bad as others that I have tried but not as good either. (I have this thing with sticky…) But still, stoked to have it in my box. Definitely something I will use. Probably not purchase, but definitely use.

Oscar Blandi – Pronto Texture & Volume Spray: This was the other thing I was delighted to see. I have been wanting to try this for some time but just unwilling to justify the price without know if it is any good or even if I would ever use it. I haven’t had a chance to try it yet, BUT I will let you know how it goes.

per-fekt Beauty – Brow Perfection Gel: I was curious to try this. I would NEVER buy this in a million years on my own so it was something that was nice to get in my box. Does that make sense? However, when I went to test it, It was completely dried out and all the brown insides fell out and made a mess everywhere. Total bummer. Good thing I wasn’t DYING to try this. I emailed BB and they gave me an extra 100 points. SWEET. This wouldn’t have worked anyways because I am a natural blonde and they sent me a really dark color..Oh well. c’est la vie

PS. I googled c’est la vie to make sure I was spelling it right and this came up. BAHAHA AWESOME!!! Remember them!

Stella Cadente – Miss Me Eau de Parfum: I’m not gonna lie and I just can’t say this any nicer. It smelled awful. Pretty much like old lady. Cody and I both hated it. YUCK! Absolutely terrible. Sorry if you liked this fragrance, no offense? haha. I am glad that I didn’t get them men’s cologne though. I think thats cheating.

They also gave us this little box thing. Cool idea, but I probably wont use it. Ever. Also, I forgot to rotate the photo, sorry.

We also got a $15 off coupon for some $88 shoes. Sorry, I can’t justify that at the moment. actually probably not ever if I couldn’t try them on first. Like I said, I am cheap.

All in all this was a really good box. I am glad BB got their act together for November and I hope they keep it up.

IPSY:

This was my first IPSY bag and let me tell you, it did NOT disappoint! I am extremely happy with the products that they sent me to try! There are a couple down falls to IPSY that keep me with BB. One, their website. I have no idea what I am supposed to do on that thing! SOO CONFUSED! Two, you can’t get anything on their website. You have to go out and buy it elsewhere, which is a total bummer. Three, they don’t have a rewards system. I LOVE BB’s point system. It is one of the things that keeps me there. And four, the vibe of the company. IPSY feels very “look at me, I’m awesome” where as BB gives more of a down to earth vibe which I relate to a whole lot more. I feel more comfortable with BB than with IPSY where I feel like I don’t belong. Does that make sense? It feel like sorority type-ish. No offense to anyone in a sorority….Just the only way I know how to explain it.

First off, it comes in a cute little cloth bag. Nothing fancy but they will be great for small presents at Christmas.

Nailtini: Lets get one thing straight. I love nail polish. What I don’t love is paying for it. It just seems so expensive for the good stuff! Yes, I do think $8 is a lot. With that being said, HELLO AWESOMENESS! I am not a HUGE fan of this kind of glitterafied nail polish but I am a HUGE fan of getting the full sized bottle in my bag! It will be great with the holidays coming up. I just don’t like taking it off.

the Balm – Meet Matt(e) Eyeshadow: I love trying out different eyeshadows. I don’t buy them too often because I wear glasses and I’m lazy and also, I feel like it is a lot of stuff going on around my eyes when I wear them both. I do like trying them on. I have been thinking to myself lately, that I would like to try and mix up some of my makeup routines with eyeshadow. The other thing I like about this is the packaging. It has a magnetic close on it which is really nice. They didn’t skimp on the sample packaging, which to me says that they care about their product.

bareMinerals – Marvelous Moxie Lipgloss: More lipgloss! YAAY! I love choices..sometimes. This one doesn’t smell very fruity which is REALLY nice but it is still sticky when you wear it. Just put some chapstick over it and VOILA! Not sticky anymore. This one also has a minty cool feeling on your lips. I really like that feeling.

STARLET COSMETICS – Intense Eyeliner:  Another full size product. I don’t normally wear eyeliner and when I do I use a paste kind (I can’t really think of how to describe it [thats how much I use it] basically it is like paint, I put it on with a brush) but it will be nice to have if I ever decide I am going for a certain look.

benefit – They’re Real beyond mascara: This was fun to get. I am at the beginning of what I hope to be a long journey of love with Benefit. However, this didn’t really give me the look I like and I have pretty full and long eyelashes (they aren’t amazingly awesome or anything, but they aren’t too shabby) so I don’t really feel the need to try and make them grow just yet. I tried to use Benefit’s Bad Gal lash a few years back but I didn’t really like that either. Maybe I am just not a Benefit mascara girl. I will stick to Dior for giving me my preferred look.

We also got a $20 off coupon for a $40 pair of shoes (WAAAY more affordable than those $88 ones) But they email you constantly! I had to unsubscribe already. Oh well. I’m not too worried about it.

I really liked my IPSY bag. It had a lot of cosmetics in it which is what I really like playing with. I also felt that their selection was really good too.

I have to admit though, I do like the card that BB sends better. BB has all the products and descriptions and prices on theirs when IPSY just has the name and brand. What IPSY has on theirs that BB doesn’t is a coupon for each item, which is kinda cool. I guess that is their rewards system (I still like BBs rewards better)

Bottom line. I Like them both. I have only been with IPSY for a month, but if they keep sending products like these I will be one happy camper. However, the website and the vibes I get from the company don’t make me as comfortable as BB. So in terms of products this month, IPSY totally won. But when it comes down to the company vibe and website I would hands down choose BB. On shipping times IPSY is better at that too.

I hope this helps/you had the patience to read this monstrosity. Do you use any of these services? What are your thoughts on them?

PS. I totally used a thesaurus while writing this. Be impressed.

2 thoughts on “Birchbox VS. IPSY

  1. Pingback: Circle Sweater | not your dirty underwear

  2. Pingback: Worst. News. Ever. | not your dirty underwear

Leave some love.

