You Can’t Always Get What You Want.

women-39-s-crescent-sunshine-hoodie-A58P_EY8_heroI need this in my life. I don’t think you understand. I went to REI the other day and wore it around the store for a good 30 minutes. The only problem..it is $95. Say WHAAAATTT!?!?!! I don’t have a job over here. I seriously CAN NOT buy this. But I don’t think you realize how bad I WANT it.

I have never been in a position where I couldn’t buy what I wanted for myself. Obviously, there was always a limit and I am actually pretty good at using self control when it comes to spending money. I really like having money in my bank account and I hate having to take money out of savings. HATE it. In the entire time I have been unemployed (minus my jewelry business) I have not taken money out of my savings. I am really proud of myself for that.

I have to admit. Today was extremely difficult. I walked around the store trying really hard to talk myself out of buying this sweatshirt. I mean for one, it is a $95 sweatshirt! It is not made of gold or anything but in every other way it is perfect. But still, completely impractical for that price. At least for the moment anyway…

Another reason I had a difficult time saying no was because, as you know, my birthday was a week-ish ago and my grandma sent me a check for $100. Perfect, right!? Wrong. Instead of being able to buy myself something totally AWESOME, I got to buy a new car battery. yaay. Also, even if I didn’t need the battery, I wouldn’t have been able to spend this money on it. It wouldn’t have been a smart decision for me. I really don’t like to make bad decisions. It totally gives me anxiety.

I have never been in a situation like this before. This is the weirdest and probably one of the worst parts about not having a job. I have ALWAYS had a job. I have never had to REALLY tell myself no to something I want THIS BAD. I would like to point out that I am a terrible shopper to begin with. If I find something I really like in the store, I normally try it on and if I love it, I put it back and if I am still thinking about it in a day or 2 then I can go back and get it. It is even worse when I have a gift card or when I was younger and my dad would take me school shopping and gave me a budget. That gift card stays with me for MONTHS until I find something that I REALLY want or need. Something that makes me feel like I am getting my moneys worth. Ya know? And going shopping with my dad lasted months because I could never justify the money on things. He had to find ways to entertain himself because we would go shopping all the time and never buy anything. But that is a story for another day.

I guess this is just me and my firstworldproblems but it still affecting me. I think it has a lot to do with the fact that I am unable to take care of myself how I want to right now. In the way of being independent and all. Don’t get me wrong. For being jobless, I have it pretty good. I have a really great  AMAZING support system and I thankfully have Premier Designs because I don’t know where I would be without those 2 things. But really though. I am just not used to not being able to do the things that I want (within reason). I don’t really like it. BUT, this is where I am supposed to be right now. Things will work out eventually. And hopefully sooner, rather than later.

I hope you don’t take this as complaining. I’m not upset about the sweater (even though I totally want it), I am more upset with the situation. I am adjusting.  I also don’t want this to be taken as I have always gotten everything I have ever wanted. I am used to working and just really good at budgeting what I earn.

But back to the sweater, Cody and I decided that I could buy the sweater once I got a job or if I get a $2000 month with Premier Designs. I hope either one of those comes soon.

PS. sorry about the DUMB spacing in this. WordPress is being stupid.
(if it isn’t dumb, then cool. WordPress fixed itself)

Leave some love.

