Not So Quick Veggie Lasagna.

I figured out how to make really good lasagna. The first time I made it, my mom was here and we did it together, and honestly, it would not be this good without her help. So THANKS MOM!

Let me warn you though. This recipe takes about 2.5 hours. So be prepared to work for your food. I will say that this is one of my favorite dishes though. Cody is always excited when I make it and even our roommate wants to eat with us! Also, we have some tasty leftovers for the rest of the week so that is always a plus too.

Ingredients:

1 medium onion – chopped
1 clove of garlic – finely chopped
1 teaspoon of dried basil
1 teaspoon of sugar
1 can (15 oz) of tomato sauce
1 can (14.5 oz) of diced tomatoes undrained
8 uncooked lasagna noodles
1 container (15-16 oz) of ricotta cheese
1/2 cup of parmesan cheese
1.5 teaspoons of dried oregano
2 cups of shredded mozzarella cheese
red wine
olive oil
veggies. I used – bell pepper, mushrooms, zucchini, and a leafy green (I used chard in these photos but I have also used spinach in the past)

IMAG0703#1

IMAG0706After you have stopped crying your eyes out from cutting up your onion, throw it in a 10 inch skillet cook it with the garlic in some olive oil. (I really love this olive oil from Trader Joe’s. It is like $5 for almost 34 oz and it is pure olive oil. It is wonderful to cook with.

IMAG0705#1(yes I am aware that those are whole tomatoes. Don’t used those. I had to cut them anyways. Buy the diced ones. it will save you a step)

IMAG0704#1cut up your veggies into bite sized pieces.

IMAG0707

after about 8-10 minutes, stir in the basil, sugar, tomato sauce, tomatoes, and veggies (but not your leafy green stuff). This is also where you would add a little bit of wine.

IMAG0708You are going to bring this to a boil and then reduce the heat and simmer for about 45 minutes or until it has thickened.

IMAG0710

IMAG0712While the sauce is cooking you can prepare the ricotta cheese mixture.
In a bowl, mix the ricotta cheese, 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese, and oregano together.

IMAG0713Totally easy. BTW, I have decided that ricotta cheese is weird. It tastes good, but its weird.
Set this aside for later.

IMAG0709

When there is about 20 minutes left on your sauce, cut up your greens (I did strips) and start adding them to the sauce.

IMAG0715You are going to have to do it a little at a time. This is only about 1/4 of the chard that I used and it still looked like a salad before I stirred it in.

IMAG0716You want to make sure that your greens wilt. It should look like this with all of your greens in it.
Now would also be the time to preheat your oven to 350 degrees. And now would be the time to start cooking your noodles.

IMAG0717When your sauce is done, put half of it at the bottom of an ungreased  13×9 inch glass baking dish. Make sure it covers the bottom of the pan.

IMAG0718Over your sauce, layer 4 of your noodles.

IMAG0719Spread your ricotta cheese mixture over the noodles and then sprinkle on some parmesan cheese.

IMAG0721Then put the rest of the sauce on top and then the rest of the noodles and then the rest of the ricotta cheese and then the rest of the parmesan cheese (do you see a pattern here?)

IMAG0722Cover the lasagna with foil and bake it for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, take the foil off and bake for another 15 minutes.
IMAG0723Wait another 15 minutes before you cut into it.

IMAG0724Enjoy!

Seriously, so good.

I hope you try this, because I am actually really proud of myself for this recipe. It is mostly my own too. We kind of just made things up as we went along. 🙂

Let me know if you try it and how it turns out!

PS. I wrote this at 10pm last night while eating apple pie and vanilla ice cream. I’m awesome. Probably not very healthy, but totally awesome.

Happy Tuesday!

3 thoughts on “Not So Quick Veggie Lasagna.

  1. Pingback: I Am Too White To Wear Dresses Just Yet. | not your dirty underwear

Leave some love.

