Worth.

I have my bachelors in speech pathology and have been employed as a SLPA multiple times so I pretty much know what my time and education is worth. But, I have been filling out more random applications these days because there are very few SLPA jobs available here in lovely California… And as these applications become less and less like my degree, it is hard to know what to put when they ask for your salary requirements.

What is a lot of money and what is too little? How do I figure out the right amount to not get thrown out for asking too much or get taken advantage of by asking for too little?

Lets be real, you already know what you are going to pay me if I get the job. At least a salary range. There is no real reason for you to try and trick me…it’s just rude. Its like when a teacher gives you a test to see how much you can remember versus how much you actually learned. RUDE.

Anyways, thats my rant/confusion. Haha.

You know what else I find rude? When you make me give you a resume AND then also make me fill out an application with all of my work history on it (that is already on my resume).

Ok end of rant. Thanks for listening. ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is a cute puppy photo to try and make up for this.

577330_956711615353_112306713_n

PS. Hopefully there was some humor in this.

6 thoughts on “Worth.

  1. Pingback: Floral. | not your dirty underwear

  2. I have been interviewing & hiring people for about 7-8 years for sales roles. DO NOT ever list your previous salary or desired salary in writing. You can verbally share this info but I would NOT write it down anywhere. Recently, I hired a sales coordinator / admin and we had $42,000 to pay for the position but the candidate listed that she previously made $33,000 and would accept $38,000. So my Corp HR department made me offer her only $38K even though we had $42K in the budget.

    • I have been waiting to respond until I had time…

      I have had a lot of job apps require that I send in previous salaries or give them my salary requirements what should I be putting there then. I never know what to say. Normally I try to be really vague and just say I am flexible but I doubt that is what I should be putting.

      Bagh. Its all so confusing and I don’t want to play the game wrong. you know!?

  3. I have always hated both these things. I never know what to put in there and by the time I’m filling out an application I have forgotten the phone numbers and such for previous employers. That’s why it’s on my resume. I had one store ask me if I could figure out a way to steel something from them. Are you asking if I’m a thief or just stupid. Ok so that’s my rand about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I just stopped by from the “A Lovely Blog Hop” to spread some love. I’m glad I did. Following everywhere. ๐Ÿ™‚
    http://dustykatt.blogspot.ca/

Leave some love.

