Warning. This Post Has No Photos.

As most all of you know, I started my job last week. I am a SLPA (I do speech) again. EEK.

I drove to my first day of work thinking it was going to be a pretty normal day. You know, get situated, see some kids, send them back to class, get to know my surroundings, things like that. When I walked into my new school I was greeted by an awesome welcome sign just for me. I then sat down with all the other speechies to meet them and kind of get a feel for the place. Still thinking that everything was going to be pretty normal, I was taken on a tour of my new school. This is where I found out that this was not a typical school. There are less than 10 classrooms and there are no more than 9 kids in each one. My school is where kids attend full time when their own school district doesn’t have the services to provide for them because they all have extremely severe disabilities.

Man, was I in shock. My first instinct was to freak out. I have never had any training or experience with this kind of population before. Also, I was not even close to being mentally prepared for this. I definitely thought it was just a regular school.

I spent my first week doing A LOT of observing. I went through a lot of emotions as well, especially when being told about all the horror stories of teachers/aides getting hurt and all their scars and what nots. Oye. I felt like they were trying to make me run screaming in the other direction.

Somehow in that week of craziness, I ended up not being scared or ready to run. I am completely excited to be working with these kids. And I am now really being able to see what they can do.

I can’t wait to really bond with these kids. Yes there are going to be plenty of ups and downs and I am definitely going to have to be aware of my surroundings a whole lot more than I would normally. But I am excited. It is going to be a completely new experience for me and I am going to learn so much from it.

I probably am not explaining this very well but hopefully you get the jist of it. I am sure you will hear plenty  of stories that tell you about hilarious/awkward/hopefully not that often scary things that happen at my job like boys getting completely naked in front of me….That was weird and about the time I walked back to my office. Thankfully, I don’t have to deal with that.

But yea, so that is my job!

On a half side note, Cody has been the most amazing boyfriend ever since I started this job. He wakes up with me every morning and makes me lunch the most delicious (and pretty healthy) lunch ever. He is seriously amazing.

Also, I have been so much healthier since I started working too. I drink my coffee (black with cream, that delicious french vanilla stuff in the blue bottle) every morning and then from then on I drink my water. I bought a reusable cup with a lid and straw to take to work every day and have been drinking cucumber, lemon, mint water like it is no body’s business. I haven’t really had a soda since last Monday. WHHAAAT! I am super proud of myself!

Happy Wednesday!

Linking up with Shanna

6 thoughts on “Warning. This Post Has No Photos.

  1. Sounds like an interesting job! Good life experience for sure! I helped a special ed teacher in high school more out of curiosity than anything, and the kids all just had the biggest hearts. I loved it. It was really rewarding to see them light up when they saw you!

  2. What an interesting job. Good luck. You will feel so good helping these kids.

    Thank you so much for linking up last time. I’m doing another link up tomorrow. Don’t forget to come by and link up. I’m also hosting a stella & dot giveaway. Come by and enter.

    Agi:)

    vodkainfusedlemonade.com

  3. Um, cucumber water is, like, the best. Ever.
    Also, I’m glad you are liking it so far. Although I find it odd that you accepted a job it would appear you didn’t know much about. Not judging, just confused 🙂

    • I thought I knew what I was accepting. When you get hired with a district or the office of ed, you don’t necessarily know what school site you are going to be at. At my previous job, I had 6 different sites that I traveled to each week. When I went in for my interview it looked like a normal school with kids and it was a place where I would be providing speech to kids. I had no idea that schools like this existed before my first day. They just kind of left out a large detail.

      Also, flavored water is totally delish. I am horrible at drinking plain water!

Leave some love.

