Breakfast Muffins.

I don’t know about you, but I am NOT a morning person. Especially these days when I wake up and it is still pitch black outside. I am pretty sure I hit my snooze but more than I am supposed to. I also try to get away with just dry shampoo or shower at night…

This also means that I am not one of those people who wakes up and watches the morning news and drinks their morning coffee on the couch….Not even close. I am lucky Cody makes my lunch every morning or else I would starve! So breakfast is usually not an option.

That being said, I have discovered the fabulousness of breakfast muffins. Make them Sunday night and you have breakfast for the rest of the week.

photo

I originally found the recipe from Martha Stewert. Even though she was a total brat in her video about bloggers, I still love the recipe so I still wanted to share it.

I tweaked it a little bit.

Nonstick cooking spray 1
1/4 cups all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
1/2 cup packed dark-brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon coarse salt
1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 large egg
1/3 cup skim milk (We use Lactaid milk and it still works)
3-4 medium carrots, shredded
1 medium ripe banana, mashed

I didn’t put in the raisins, because lets get real. Raisins are gross.

Preheat your oven to 400 and spray your muffin pan with cooking spray. In a large bowl mix together the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, nutmeg, and salt.

Stir in the Oats. Add in the oil, egg, milk, carrots, and banana until it is all mixed together.

Fill up the baking tins. I used a 1/4 measuring cup but added extra because I had more left in the bowl and I didn’t want to make an extra batch or waste any.

Bake them for 23-25 minutes. I heat them up in the microwave for 10-15 sec before I eat them.

It has been amazing. They are super filling and pretty healthy too. Total grab and go breakfast. Martha says they only last about 3 days, but if you put them in the freezer, they will last all week.

I hope you enjoy them!

Happy Wednesday!

One thought on “Breakfast Muffins.

Leave some love.

